Skip to main content

2011-12 End of Season Awards

Posted: Mon 23 Apr 2012

Image by:
It's that time of year again!

The season is nearly over and we want your votes for our End of Season Awards. The three categories are -
- Player of the Season
- Young Player of the Season
- Goal of the Season

Last year Adam Griffin took the main award, with Jordan Rose being the fans' choice for Young Player. The choice for Goal of the Season was a tough one - Stephen Husband's volley against Rotherham was lead the voting until Greg Tansey's wondergoal against Northampton, and a late flurry of votes saw the latter take the award.

To vote, simply mail us on with "End of Season Awards" as the subject. Alternatively you can pick up a form from the Ticket Office/Club Shop; to register your vote this way, just return the completed form back to the Ticket Office/Club Shop.

It's been a long season, so we've compiled a short video containg five of our favourite goals to help you decide. However, you aren't limited to choosing from just these five!

The first goal in the selection is Euan Holden's Maradona-esque run through Kettering's defence back in August.

Second is Antonio German teasing Telford before blasting home from outside the area, and third is Sam Sheridan's special strike against Barrow on New Year's Day.

For the fourth we went for Sean Newton's pinpoint free-kick at Kettering, and Newton's accuracy helped make our fifth goal, which was Danny Hattersley's superb header against Lincoln.

The music should be familiar to older County fans - it's "Danny's Theme" by Cavalier Studios, which of course was named after the late Danny Bergara, used on highlights videos from the early '90s.
Preview Seasonal Winners
Year Player of the Season Goal of the Season Young Player of the Season 2011 Adam Griffin Greg Tansey vs Northampton (H) Jordan Rose 2010 Johnny Mullins Danny Pilkington vs Brighton (H) Danny Pilkington 2009 Owain Fon Williams James Vincent vs Hartlepool (H) Matty Mainwaring 2008 Liam Dickinson Adam Proudlock vs Wycombe (H) Tommy Rowe 2007 Gareth Owen Keith Briggs vs Grimsby (A) Jason Taylor 2006 Ashley Williams Tes Bramble vs Northampton (H) Adam Le Fondre 2005 James Spencer Danny Griffin vs Swansea (FA Cup) Michael Raynes 2004 Rickie Lambert Chris Williams vs Brentford (A) Ashley Williams 2003 Luke Beckett Jim Goodwin vs Northampton (A) Andy Welsh